Sound On!

Sound On by Sinead McCann and Alan J Burns. Illustration by Ashwin Chacko.

Sound On! an online sound art exhibition presented by SAINT JOHN OF GOD, IRE and
HEADWAY ARTS, UK with artists Dr Sinead McCann and AlanJames Burns


Sound On! is a creative sound artwork exploring experiences of human rights and happiness for and by people with a learning disability. The sound artwork consists of 3 sound tracks entitled;

I Have the Right (2’ 47’’)
Sounds of our Lives (3’ 51’’)
Listen In (8’ 55’’)

The project is a collaboration between artists Dr Sinead McCann, AlanJames Burns and Saint John of God Liffey Services Ireland who provide a range of support to adults with learning disabilities. The composition for the sound tracks was created in collaboration with composer Conor O’Malley.

Sound On! runs from Tuesday 14th December 2021 to Saturday 3rd December 2022.

Listen to the exhibition here:


Sound On! illustration by Ashwin Chacko.

Funded by the Arts Council of Ireland Artist in Community Scheme, managed by Create, Kildare County Council Creative Ireland Community Grant and Culture Ireland.

Headway Arts has supported the Sound On! project through our Beautiful Difference project which offers platforms & opportunities to learning disabled creatives through funds from Arts Council England.

We’re delighted to announce that Sound On! will be presented at our Beautiful Difference Symposium during June 2022 which will bring together 40 international artists to exchange ideas and further thinking.


We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of all our funders which currently includes:

  • Arts Council England
  • Blyth Town Council
  • Community Foundation
  • Edward Gostling Foundation – RW Mann Trust – Shears Foundation
  • Erasmus+
  • Great Northumberland
  • Hadrian Trust – High Sheriff of Northumberland – Rothley Trust
  • Heritage Fund
  • National Lottery Community Fund
  • Northumberland County Council
  • Postcode Community Trust
  • Sir James Knott Trust
  • The 1989 Willan Trust – Wellesley Trust
  • the Coalfields Regeneration Trust