Training for Emerging Dancers in Inclusive Practice

Headway Arts has been supported by Arts Council England through Grants for the Arts for our wide reaching CoCreArt project. 

As part of this project we are working with Mileva Donachie at Active Northumberland to support 4 emerging dancers to develop inclusive dance practice through a professional development opportunity working alongside our learning disabled dance group Satellites Dance. The first block sees Jackson Watson shadowing Choreographer and Dance Artist Alys North on creating street dance performance for Northumberland Live. 

There are 2 further similar training opportunities now available and we are delighted to invite expression of interest from emerging dancers for the next workshops which begin on September 4th to November 27th 2017 with Dance Artist Tracey West. 

Workshops are on Mondays from 10am to 3pm at Headway ArtSpace in Blyth and will include a performance at Dance City as part of the Freedom Moving Platform on Friday November 24th for which you will need to be available. There may also be further dates tbc. 

There is a £40 a day training bursary. You would also be required to contribute to the evaluation of the project. 

If you would like to be considered for the September start date please email your EOI in 300 words expressing why you wish to develop inclusive creative practice, along with your CV to Allie Walton-Robson, Creative Director, Headway Arts asap for a September 4th start:

Appointments subject to interview, reference and DBS required. 

Further opportunities will be announced later for the final workshops between January and March 2018 but your EOI is welcome now. 

We look forward to hearing from you.

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of all our funders which currently includes:

  • Arts Council England
  • Blyth Town Council
  • Community Foundation
  • Edward Gostling Foundation – RW Mann Trust – Shears Foundation
  • Erasmus+
  • Great Northumberland
  • Hadrian Trust – High Sheriff of Northumberland – Rothley Trust
  • Heritage Fund
  • National Lottery Community Fund
  • Northumberland County Council
  • Postcode Community Trust
  • Sir James Knott Trust
  • The 1989 Willan Trust – Wellesley Trust
  • the Coalfields Regeneration Trust