Call Out for Artists!

We’ve had a great response to the first call out but are still missing some art forms. Because of this we have extended the deadline for applications to Friday 17th May 2019!


CoCreART Laboratories – opportunity for five visiting artists

As part of our dynamic CoCreART programme, we are looking for five visiting artists from all disciplines to work alongside five learning disabled artists from Headway Arts. Successful applicants will co-create new shared work across a variety of art forms and equally explore each other’s processes, skills, influences, culture and practice.

The artists will work across a variety of art forms within five short but intensive laboratories using Headway Arts’ unique award-winning CoCreART methodology which has been developed over 25 years of pioneering inclusive practices, supported by Arts Council England.

All artists will present their dialogues for discussion at The CoCreART Symposium and Networking Lunch on Friday 26th July 2019 at Headway ArtSpace, Blyth.

The laboratories will be supported and directed by Allie Walton-Robson, Creative Director, Headway Arts and all visiting artists will receive a Commissions for Exchange bursary of £250.

To apply, please send your CV and a 500 word statement to: by 1st May 2019  Friday 17th May 2019.


What is CoCreART?

CoCreART is an ambitious artistic programme which puts disabled and disadvantaged artists centre stage. It offers the region a most comprehensive high quality inclusive artistic programme which will champion and support the fuller participation of learning disabled people in the cultural life of their communities.


CoCreART Symposium and Network Lunch Programme

12.15 – Arrivals

12.30 – Lunch/Networking

13.45 – Presentations

14.45 – Facilitated Discussions

15.45 – Tea and Cake

16.05 – Feedback and Results

16.45 – Finish

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support of all our funders which currently includes:

  • Arts Council England
  • Blyth Town Council
  • Community Foundation
  • Edward Gostling Foundation – RW Mann Trust – Shears Foundation
  • Erasmus+
  • Great Northumberland
  • Hadrian Trust – High Sheriff of Northumberland – Rothley Trust
  • Heritage Fund
  • National Lottery Community Fund
  • Northumberland County Council
  • Postcode Community Trust
  • Scope
  • Sir James Knott Trust
  • The 1989 Willan Trust – Wellesley Trust
  • the Coalfields Regeneration Trust